One year of blogging!

One year of blogging! | Currently Well turns 1

After several attempts at starting a blog (then subsequently deleting them) this one seems to have stuck. Thanks for reading, commenting, and supporting my blog! One of the most unexpected wonderful surprises of blogging was being able to ‘meet’ the online community of creators. Although I haven’t met them personally, I feel like I have gotten to know them through reading their beautiful blogs. I may not have hundreds of followers and some posts may have barely any views, but I’m still glad that I’ve created this little space here on Currently Well.

Sometimes I’ve felt discouraged. Out of the thousands of blogs out there, how is mine any different? Do people even care? Are my posts excruciatingly boring to read? Some posts I’m super proud of…and some, not so much. Some posts I cringe at, wondering why I wrote it and even bothered to publish it. Why do I even blog?, I’ve wondered. Am I just trying to curate the ‘perfect life’, when in fact, I am no where near this ‘Pinterest/Instagram/Lifestyle blog-worthy perfection’?

Luckily, I’ve learned to just relax a little (sort of).

I started with a focus on health but realized there are so many other things I love and want to write about. The first year of blogging was all about trying to find my ‘niche’ (which I have yet to figure it out). I can’t deny that I still feel like a total newbie at blogging, so here are a few goals I have for the next year:

  1. Don’t fret over stats. In fact, don’t check your stats as often as I do…
  2. Be patient. Often, as soon as I’m finished writing a post, I’m tempted to post it right away. Instead, I’m hoping to get to used to scheduling more so I have posts lined up for each week (aka resist the instant gratification of publishing a blog post).
  3. Take better photos. It’s been a year of using a point + shoot camera and my cellphone as well as photos from other website. I’m hoping to invest in a DSLR or at least figure out the lighting situation and background for my photos.

A look back | here is a round-up of my favourite blog posts that I have written this past first year of blogging:

The Need for Impromptu Dance Sessions

The notion of ‘perfect

Nectarine + Tomato Salad from ‘The Forest Feast

Interview | Living Light with Coco

Eat Seasonably | Spring

That’s darling.

Thanks to those who have found my little corner of the internet and decided to stick around : )


Image via Etsy

14 thoughts on “One year of blogging!

  1. Awwww so awesome!! I think all bloggers go through all the feelings you mentioned above, it’s just part of it. I love your posts, you always have something inspiriting to say! Impromptu Dance Sessions will always be one of my favourites 🙂 Congratulations on a year of blogging Naomi. xo

  2. Happy one year blogiversary! ❤ just found your page now and love it! 🙂 ive just started blogging again after a year off so am just trying to get back into the swing of things!
    So nice to find you and have a great week
    Cheray x

    • Thank you so much Cheray! Blogging can be a lot of work -I’m sure the time off was a great refresher and you’ll be right back at it 🙂

Leave a comment