Why I drink green tea. | Currently Well

Why I drink green tea.

Why I drink green tea. | Currently Well

Fact: when trying to think of a name for this blog, one of the names that I came up with during my brainstorm was ‘Green Tea, Etc’. Clearly, it never made the cut, but it goes to show my love for green tea that I even considered using it as part of the name for my blog (perhaps I can patent the name for a future tea shop?).

I’m not much of a taste connoisseur but I do appreciate the ‘simple’ flavour of green tea (I have it plain without milk or sugar). Green tea makes me feel refreshed and recharged, especially when I’m feeling tired or stressed. I end up drinking several cups of green tea everyday. Something about holding a warm drink in my hands feels so soothing and meditative.

In addition to getting me through my longer days, I associate green tea with comfort, relaxation, & mindfulness. I love cozying up with green tea and reading blog posts, watching a movie, reading a book, or chatting with friends. While I admit that I haven’t nailed down that whole ‘perfect’ morning ritual (I’m usually found sprinting out the door to catch my bus), I can say that green tea is always part of my morning. It has just the right amount of caffeine in it to wake me up without giving me jitters the way that coffee does. I love putting my face over a hot cup of green tea and experiencing an impromptu facial tea steam.

I think this quote sums up mindfulness + tea perfectly:

“Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future.”

Feeling relaxed yet?

I won’t go into detail about the health benefits as I’m sure most of us know that its good for us, but for more information about the nutrients, read what Today’s Dietitian has to say about green tea.

Because caffeine has a strong affect on me, I typically avoid drinking green tea in the evening. However, I wish I could drink a caffeine-less tea that helps me wind down at the end of the day (other than camomile). Do you drink tea as part of your bedtime routine? If so, I would love to hear your recommendations!


Image via Design From A to V 

6 thoughts on “Why I drink green tea.

Leave a Reply

